All-Horizon N. Daniels

WFPC Alumna All-Horizon League selected again

The Cleveland State women’s soccer team, which has set a program record with 10 wins this season, had three players named to the All-Horizon League teams, which were announced on Monday afternoon (Oct. 31) by the league office.

Earning a spot on the All-Horizon League first team for the second straight year was senior midfielder Natalie Daniels (Olympia, Wash.).

"I couldn’t be happier or more proud of daniels," head coach Derrek Falor said. "To see her continue recognized after our record setting season is very exciting. I think it shows that we are becoming more and more respected and improving as a program.

"The success that we have been able to enjoy this year is due to playing as a team and for the three players who have been recognized, there are many others who are deserving in their own rights. Without them, we could not have enjoyed the success we have had this year and I know they appreciate the respect that these honors show."

Daniels, who was a second team all-league pick as a freshman and sophomore and first team pick last year, becomes the first player in school history to earn all-league honors in four straight seasons. She leads the team and is fourth in the league with six assists, while ranking second in goals (3) and points (12). A four-year letterwinner, Daniels is the CSU career record holder in goals (19), assists (19), points (57), shots (154) and shots on goal (96).

2011 Horizon League Award Winners 
All-League First Team 
Sarah Hagen, Milwaukee 
Keara Thompson, Milwaukee 
Alexandra Suschak, Detroit 
Katie Griswold, Butler 
Natalie Daniels, Cleveland State 
Helen Steinhauser, Milwaukee 
Brittany Persaud, Wright State 
Bekah Bonny, Wright State 
Abby McCollum, Detroit 
Kaitlyn Quarrell, Detroit 
Jamie Forbes, Milwaukee 

All-League Second Team
Rachel Hoaglin, Valparaiso 
Mary Wandolowski, Milwaukee 
Jessie Hubly, Loyola 
Taylor Vidovic, Cleveland State 
Amy Kauffung, Milwaukee 
Elise Kotsakis, Butler 
Corey Arno, Green Bay 
Luisa Desario, Valparaiso 
Casey Pedersen, Valparaiso 
Mackenzie Gaillaspie, Milwaukee 
Nora Abolins, Detroit

All-Newcomer Team
Amy Kauffung, D, Milwaukee
Alyssa Riley, M, Detroit
Elise Kotsakis, F, Butler
Kelsey Draper, M, Valparaiso
Emily Scott, F, Milwaukee
Moriah Schwarz, M, Loyola
Jade Flory, F, Youngstown State
Allie Metzler, D, Wright State
Kelsey Holbert, M, Milwaukee
Shea Levi, M, Cleveland State
Valerie Gonyo, D, Loyola

Player of the Year 
Sarah Hagen, Milwaukee
Offensive Player of the Year
Sarah Hagen, Milwaukee
Defensive Players of the Year
Alexandra Suschak, Detroit
Jamie Forbes, Milwaukee
Goalkeeper of the Year
Jamie Forbes, Milwaukee
Newcomer of the Year
Amy Kauffung, Milwaukee
Coach of the Year
Michael Moynihan, Milwaukee

2010- Cleveland State sophomore midfielder Natalie Daniels is the lone Viking to earn league honors following the 2009 season in a vote of the league coaches. Daniels earned a spot on the All-Horizon League Second Team following her performance this season.

"This is a very well deserved honor for Natalie," head coach Derrek Falor said. "Natalie is a sophisticated central mid who uses a very cerebral and creative approach to the game. She’s a technical player who can dictate tempo, shoot well from distance, and play teammates `in’ with a variety services. She is most dangerous for us in the creation of quality scoring chances in transition." She has proven that she is one of the top players in the conference, even in a down year for our program. It is a testament to her creativity and work ethic that will only improve over the next two years."

The Olympia, Washington native finished the season second on the team with two goals and tied for first with two assists totaling six points. Daniels started in all 18 matches for the Vikings, leading the team with 17 shots on goal.

She recorded her first goal of the season in the 2-1 overtime victory at Kent State scoring the game-winner in the 99th minute, giving CSU their first victory of the year. Her second goal came during the 3-2 loss at IUPUI, with her assists coming against Eastern Illinois and Butler.

Daniels is no stranger to Horizon League postseason awards, as she was named to the All-Horizon League second team and the Horizon League All-Newcomer team following her freshman campaign last season.

Following last week’s loss to Youngstown State, the Vikings eliminated themselves from the Horizon League Tournament finishing the season in seventh place with a 3-14-1 overall record, 2-5-1 in the league.

The complete list of league awards follows:

First Team All-Horizon League
Molly Kruger, Butler
Chelsea Lyons, Green Bay
Julie Colhoff, Loyola
Cynthia Morote-Ariza, Loyola
Sarah Hagen, Milwaukee
Kate Megna, Milwaukee
Sarah Talbert, Milwaukee
Luisa Desario, Valparaiso
Jen Agueci, Wright State
Bekah Bonny, Wright State
Meghan Hackerson, Wright State

Second Team All-Horizon League
Abbie Kaul, Butler
Sarah Phelps, Butler
Natalie Daniels, Cleveland State
Selena Stanski, Detroit
Casey Berrier, Loyola
Katie Groesch, Loyola
Erin Kreuser, Milwaukee
Nicole Sperl, Milwuakee
Rachel Hoaglin, Valparaiso
Trisha Stevens, Wright State
Kara Cooper, Youngstown State