All-ACC N. Palodichuk

WPFC Alumnus Voted 2nd Team All-ACC as a freshman

Palodichuk, an All-ACC second team honoree, led all rookies in the ACC with 22 points from eight goals and six assists in 2011. His 22 points rank fourth among all Division I freshmen, while his eight goals are tied for eighth nationally and second among ACC rookies. The lone freshman to earn a spot on the All-ACC teams started all 21 games and ranked fifth among field players in minutes played.

Registering at least one point in nine games, Palodichuk tallied a career-high two goals in Duke’s win over Presbyterian.  He turned in a four-point outing at Clemson with a goal and two assists and put away Duke’s lone goal in the 2-1 loss to New Mexico in the NCAA Tournament second round.

The Blue Devils finished the year with an 11-8-3 overall record and advanced to the NCAA Tournament second round for the third consecutive season.

2011 All-ACC Men’s Soccer Team

First Team

Player Year Pos. School
Kyle Bekker Jr. M. Boston College
Charlie Rugg Jr. F Boston College
James Belshaw Jr. GK Duke
Andrew Wenger Jr. F Duke
John Stertzer Jr. M Maryland
Casey Townsend Sr. F Maryland
Scott Goodwin Jr. GK North Carolina
Matt Hedges Sr. D North Carolina
Enzo Martinez Jr. M North Carolina
Billy Schuler Jr. F North Carolina
Will Bates Jr. F Virginia
Jared Watts So. M Wake Forest

Second Team

Player Year Pos. School
Chris Ager So. D Boston College
Cody Mizell So. GK Clemson
Sebastien Ibeagha So. D Duke
Nick Palodichuk Fr. F Duke
Sunny Jane So. M Maryland
Taylor Kemp Jr. D Maryland
Patrick Mullins So. F Maryland
London Woodberry Jr. D Maryland
Kirk Urso Sr. M North Carolina
Brian Ownby Sr. M Virginia
Brian Span, So. M Virginia

2011 All-ACC Freshman Men’s Soccer Team
Name, School - Position

Diego Medina-Mendez, Boston College - MF

Brynjar Benediktsson, Clemson - F

Amadou Dia, Clemson - F

Andrew Morales, Fr., Duke - MF

Nick Palodichuk, Duke - F

Mikey Lopez, North Carolina - MF

Jordan McCrary, North Carolina - D

Boyd Okwuonu, North Carolina - D

Ryan Zinkhan, Virginia - F

Teddy Mullin, Wake Forest - MF

Sean Okoli, Wake Forest - F

Offensive Player of the Year - Andrew Wenger, Duke

Defensive Player of the Year - Matt Hedges, North Carolina

Freshman of the Year - Mikey Lopez, North Carolina

Coach of the Year - Carlos Somoano, North Carolina